Our Annual Awards

Vince Hutchins Partnership Award

In honor of Dr. Vince L. Hutchins, this award recognizes an outstanding individual that exemplifies skills in partnership and collaboration in MCH programs. 

Award Criteria

Contributions can include:

  • An outstanding individual that exemplifies skills in partnership and collaboration in MCH programs (local, state or national), i.e.:
    • Through partnership and collaboration, this individual provided distinguished service for outstanding achievements that had a major impact on improving the health and well-being of the MCH population or for services that significantly advanced MCHB’s mission and goals at a local, state or national level.
    • Developed partnerships that included a diversity of collaborators (traditional and/or nontraditional) which led to advancement of the health and well-being of the MCH population at a local, state or national level.

Title V Lifetime Achievement Award

The Title V Lifetime Achievement Award is an individual award that recognizes outstanding contributions made to the field of maternal and child health over a sustained period.

Award Criteria

Contributions can include:

  • An established history of distinguished service with lasting contributions to the MCH/CSHCN fields.
  • Demonstrated leadership that positively impacted a MCH/CSHCN program at the federal, state or local level.
  • Inspirational leadership that influenced others in the MCH/CSHCN field.

MCHB Director’s Award

The MCHB Director’s Award is presented to an individual who has noteworthy contributions to the health of infants, mothers, children, adolescents and children with special health care needs (CSHCN).

Award Criteria

Contributions can include:

  • A national level contribution made by the nominee to improve the health of mothers, infants, children, including CSHCN, and their families.
  • An innovative effort that resulted in a significant economic or other highly desirable benefit for the MCH community. Such efforts may include, but are not limited to, advancement of evidence-based or –informed practice, MCH program leadership, peer mentoring, training and workforce development.
  • Advancements in the knowledge base of maternal and child health through research, particularly research that has led to improvements in policy and practice.
  • Acts of courage or heroism that have impacted the health and well-being of the MCH population (e.g., infectious disease outbreaks and natural disasters).
  • Leadership and accomplishments in maternal and child health by a student (undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral) who shows great promise for impacting the field in the future.
  • Contributions that advanced national MCH goals and objectives.

Past Award Recipients

Vince Hutchins Partnership Award

Vince Hutchins Partnership Award


Leslie A. Kowalewski


Connie Mitchell, MD, MPH

Amy Olejniczak, MS, MPH


Donna J. Petersen, ScD, MHS, CPH


Michael Kogan, PhD

V. Fan Tait, MD, FAAP


Arden Handler, DrPH


Milton Kotelchuck, PhD, MPH


Loretta “Deliana” Fuddy, A.C.S.W., M.P.H.


Robert Blum, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D


Phyllis J. Sloyer, R.N., Ph.D.


Greg Alexander, R.S., M.P.H., Sc.D.


Deborah Klein Walker


Garland H. Land M.P.


Paul Newacheck, Ph.D.


Polly Arango


Catherine A. Hess, M.S.W.

Title V Lifetime Achievement Award

Title V Lifetime Achievement Award


Gigliola Baruffi, MD, MPH

Coleen A. Boyle, PhD, MS hyg

Nathan J. Blum, MD

Claire D. Brindis, DrPH, MPH

Judith C. Dolins, MPH

Karin Downs, RN, MPH

Michele Lawler, MS, RD

Ralph M. Schubert, MSc, MA


Charles E. Irwin, Jr., MD

Louise Kido Iwaishi, MD

Edward Schor, MD


Russell S. Kirby, PhD, MS

Lewis Margolis, MD, MPH


Holly Grason, MA

Karen Trierweiler, MS

Peter C. van Dyck, MD, MPH

Stephanie Wrightsman-Birch, MPH, MS


Merle McPherson, MD, MPH

Sam Cooper, LMSW-IPR

Edward P. Ehlinger, MD, MSPH

Ruth Ann Shepherd, MD


Cassie Lauver, MSW, ACSW

Bonnie Strickland, PhD


Jon Nelson (Deputy Associate Administrator)


Lorraine V. Klerman, DrPH

Polly Arango (Family Leader)

MCHB Director’s Award

MCHB Director’s Award


Hafsatou Fifi Diop, MD, MPH

Susan Chauncey Horky, LCSW

Heather Santos Pangelinan, MS

Christy S. Schunn, LSCSW


Maria Mercedes Avila, PhD, MSW

Michelle Bassani

Jeffrey P. Brosco, MD, PhD

Maria Paz Carlos, PhD, DVM, MBA

Sarah M. Davis, MPA

Jennifer Fiedelholtz, MPP

Rachel Hutson, MSN, RN, CPNP

Ian M. Paul, MD, MSc

Shirley Payne, MPH

Bradley Planey, MS, MA, MA


Marcus C. Allen, MPH

Coralaidee Jiminez Burgos

Dorothy Cilenti, DrPH, MPH, MSW

Sheri Downing‐Futrell, MHA, BSN, BSW

Sharon Fleischfresser, MD, MPH, FAAP

Donald Hayes, MD, MPH

Kim Mertz, RN, BNSc

Christina Mullins, MA

Cheri Pies, MSW, DrPH

Rachel Sisson, MS


Trina Anglin, MD, PhD

David de la Cruz, PhD, MPH

Lori Tremmel Freeman, MBA

Deborah Garneau, MA

Marie Mann, MD, MPH

Lauren Raskin Ramos, MPH

Jackie Richardson, MBA

Dionisio Salmon

Eugene Tom, Jr.

Amy Zapata, MPH


Art James, MD

CDC/Chronic Disease Prevention – Division of Reproductive Health

Nan Streeter, MS, RN

Margarita Torres Aldan, MPH

Ellen Volpe, MHA

Hani Atrash, MD, MPH

Deborah Allen, ScD

Reem M. Ghandour, DrPH, MPA

Claritsa Malave, MD, MPH

Shirley Smith, RN, MS

Miguel Valencia Prado, MD

Manuel Vargas Bernal, MD, MPH

Michael D. Warren, MD, MPH

David W. Willis, MD


Alethia Carr, RD, MBA

Ashley Schempf Hirai, PhD

Karen Hughes, MPH

William M. Sappenfield, MD, MPH


Michael Fraser, Ph.D., C.A,E.

Kay Johnson, M.Ed., M.P.H.

Laura Kavanagh, M.P.P.


Patricia Thomas, Family Leader

Joan Wightkin, Dr.P.H., M.P.H.


Maribeth Badura, M.S.N., R.N.

Loretta J. Fuddy, A.C.S.W., M.P.H.

Richard R. Nugent, M.D., M.P.H.

Barbara Popper, M.Ed., I.B.C.L.C.

Denise Sofka, R.D., M.P.H.

Myrtis Sullivan, M.D., M.P.H.


Paula Duncan, MD

Mary Margaret Gottesman

Joseph Hagan

David Heppel

Michael Kogan

Jeffery Lobas

Stephani Olsen

Nora Wells

Judy Shaw

Bonnie Strickland


Julianne Beckett

Holly A. Grason, M.A.

Ann Koontz, Ph.D.

Michael Mucci, M.B.A.

Phyllis Sloyer, R.N., Ph.D.


Claire D. Brindis, Dr. P.H.

William Carl Cooley, MD

Ann Drum

Cassie Lauver

Jana Monaco


Keith Crinic

Bill Hollingshead

Michele Lawler

Carol O’Toole

Betsy Andersen


George Jesien

Chris Dykton


Date Last Reviewed:  September 2021